24th - 26th August 2018
Power, Politics, Passion



Endeavour House Writer in Residence 2017

Australian writers of non-fiction, fiction, poetry or drama are invited to apply for the 2017 Endeavour House Writer in Residence Program.

Endeavour House at 1 Franklin St Manuka, Canberra has recently been purchased as a new social impact investment with renovations already complete on the first level with the opening of The Level, a new centre for civil society organisations and purposeful businesses in Canberra, in 2016.

The Endeavour House Writers in Residence program is a recognition of the value and importance of writers in our public discourse and an acknowledgement of the role writers and storytellers play in shaping our national identity.

The steering committee (listed with bios below) will select one or more writers each year, to undertake a two week residency, including modest accommodation, a room or desk at Endeavour House and a stipend of AUD$2,500 per week.

The Australia Institute is a co-sponsor of the Writers in Residence program, along with Ethical Property Commercial Limited, the owners of Endeavour House.

For more information on how to apply for the Endeavour House writers in residence program visit http://writeronthelevel.org.au. Applications close 5pm AEST Monday 6 March 2017.


The steering committee and selection panel for the 2017 Endeavour House Writer in Residence program are –


Paul Daley is a novelist and playwright whose books have been shortlisted in major literary prizes and is the author of the political novel Challenge. He has a won a number of journalism prizes including two Walkley awards, the Paul Lyneham award for political journalism and two Kennedy awards and currently writes for Guardian Australia.


Allan Behm is the chair of the Canberra Writers Festival. Behm was formerly Greg Combet’s chief of staff and in 2001 established Knowledge Pond, an international consultancy advising on political and sovereign risk, strategy and security. Behm is currently the CEO of PTSD-ANZ and continues to publish and comment on international security matters.


Melinda Smith is a Canberra-based poet who won the Prime Minister's Literary Award for her fourth book, Drag down to unlock or place an emergency call. Her poems have appeared widely in magazines, newspapers and anthologies in Australia and overseas. She is currently poetry editor of The Canberra Times. 


Alex Sloan has been a broadcaster with the ABC for 27 years. She spent 22 years presenting programs on ABC Local Radio Canberra, presenting Drive, Weekends, Mornings and Afternoons shifts. Sloan is known for her author interviews and has been thanked for reading the books from cover to cover. She has been a great champion of the Canberra region writing scene. Sloan is retiring from the ABC at the end of January 2017, and she hopes to spend more time reading great books by Australian writers.


Ben Oquist is the executive director of the Australia Institute, and a highly respected political and communications strategist and commentator. Oquist is known for his ability to negotiate across the political spectrum, and is a regular commentator and contributor on SkyNews, The Drum, Crikey, The Guardian and Fairfax publications.